Me and the world: Not all those who wander are lost

I’ve been wondering for a while what it is that drives me to travel, to look for new adventures and to do the strangest choices. I’ve got a strong desire to see the world. It’s not just about visiting new places like a tourist. I am a traveler. I want to live and experience the world. I yearn to see it through their inhabitants’ eyes. Just like the old saying teaches ‘When in Rome…’ I aspire to live like them even if for a short period.

There seems to be a sense of restlessness within my soul.

I used to curse my inability to stay still, to endlessly wonder about the most random countries, to perpetually see myself anywhere else but here. Now it’s different, I like my life as a wanderer. I find amazing the fact that I am able to adapt to different cultures or to at least try to better understand them. I’m not bound by useless cultural common misunderstandings or by the inability to do things in a different way. I’m not gonna starve myself if I can’t find a certain Italian product or, even worse, continuously think ‘But in my country it’s like this’. I like to experiment, to try new things, to meet new people.

Like in the most romantic books and movies it has always been a two people affair: me and my suitcase.

So, to all of those out there who think that being a wanderer is stupid and a waste of energy and money I reply that spending a life without challenging ourselves into doing something crazy and liberating like wandering around the world is a misspent life.  Just like Tolkien once said: Not all those who wander are lost.

Leave a Reply

