The Writer’s Room

Prose is Architecture, not interior decoration.

Ernest Hemingway

I always find myself writing in the most random places, the usual cafes or libraries, my bedroom or even my kitchen. While I do enjoy writing or reading while having a nice cup of tea or a glass of good wine surrounded by people, I have to admit that there have been many times in which I wished for a proper writer’s studio; a place where I could retreat in complete isolation and peace. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who would love to have a designed space in which we could unleash our imagination and pen down every single thought and words popping in our heads. In fact, in On Writing Stephen King argues for the necessity of having a writing room which, to King’s opinion, should be a humble space with just a door to shut the whole world out and preferably nothing else in it. Inspired by King’s suggestion I then started wondering what my writing room would look like if I had all the means to get it. 

First of all, I would definitely ditch the whole idea of ‘be humble and simple’ and go for something spectacular. I would not waste my money on expensive lofts or houses, rather, I would go for a medium size glass room in the middle of nowhere: a forest, the countryside, on a cliff side, or the mountains. It doesn’t really matter where as long as it is just me, my laptop, a kettle accompanied with an infinite box of English breakfast and Earl Grey, and Nature. I’m in love with glass houses as they allow you to see everything and hopefully to be inspired by it. Similarly, I think it is important to be somewhere isolated because I think that it would be regenerating to be for a certain period of time away from the usual sounds dominating our lives: Tv, cars, people talking, telephones ringing… The sound of silence is the most beautiful sound of all. It calms your soul, it allows you to listen to your thoughts and to appreciate the faintest sounds coming from nature: the waves, the birds singing, the wind, the rain…

photo © Åke E:son Lindman

photo © Åke E:son Lindman
Archipelago House by Tham& Videgard Architects in Stockholm, Sweden

visualization © Peter Guthrie Twins: House in Five Parts by William O’ Brien Jr.

visualization © Peter Guthrie
Twins: House in Five Parts by William O’ Brien Jr.

While browsing on Pinterest I came across a couple of pictures of beautiful buildings that I wished they were the locus of my writing retreats. They are from Yatzer, a global online library featuring captivating news stories, interviews and reviews from the creative world covering spheres such as design, architecture, travel and art. (http://www.yatzer.com). It’s an amazing place for anyone who, like me, is always looking for the most singular, jaw dropping buildings (from restaurants to hotels, from libraries to homes) existing all over the world.

There are obviously many buildings that could be perfect as a writer’s studio, however, I find that these two are the ones that reflect my vision the most. I couldn’t agree more with Tina Komninou, the interior designer presenting the Archipelago House, when she said that the residence is ‘Poetry on the making’, a perfect space in which we could really write endless stories.

So dear reader, if you had the chance to have your dream writing space what would it look like?

2 thoughts on “The Writer’s Room

  1. I too feel this way.

    I often wish to just have a cottage, maybe near a lake, or river. Something with a view. Comfortable and cozy. But with enough space to spread out, should I need it.

    I currently have books in all corners of my house, and I suspect I would have it the same way there. Overstuffed everything-shelves, desktops, chaises and sofas.

    • A house without books would be an empty and sad one!! I’m the same. My desk is so overstuffed that I’ve got only a tiny space where I can put my laptop. Everything else, bookcases, chairs and random tables have been conquered by the written word ages ago!

Leave a Reply

