Always something there to remind me

Well, open up your mind and see like me,
Open up your plans and damn you’re free.

Jason Mraz, I’m Yours

To travel

I love this song. It’s a love song and yet whenever I listen to it all I can think about is packing my suitcase, go to the nearest means of transportation and start a new adventure. This song always manages to give me the strength and the drive to travel again, to open up my mind and leave. The whole world is for me to see.

Whenever I listen to it my heart remembers the sense of freedom felt as I was boarding the plane four years ago. I was 24 and that was the first time that I was traveling by myself. It was the first time that I was able to go to those two countries that were so far away and yet so close to my heart. Going to Japan and New Zealand was at that time my not-so-secret dream.

If I close my eyes I can vividly see myself sitting on the bus going to Heathrow airport.  Tightly secured in my hands there was a closed envelope given to me by my mom. ‘It’s your present for your graduation’, she said to me two days earlier. Only after reaching Heathrow I was allowed to open it and see its content. The envelope contained a ticket to Auckland and a smaller envelope with a ticket Auckland-Tokyo. That was the day that changed my life.

This song was the soundtrack of my extraordinary trip. It was playing in my mp3 while I was walking around Tokyo or visiting Kyoto. It was the melody that accompanied me while I was traveling around the North Island (NZ).

Leave a Reply

