The Sound of Silence… Weekly Writing Challenge

Psyche and Love

Psyche and Love

As soon as I read the title of the weekly writing challenge on the Daily Post a song came up on my mind: ‘The Sound of Silence’ by Paul Simon. However,  it wasn’t the original version that I remembered. It was Passenger’s rendition of the song that left a mark on my memory and will always be my favorite.

The first time that I listened to his homage to Paul Simon I felt as if the words and the way he was singing it were mirroring my soul.

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.

I cannot remember how many nights I stayed awake contemplating the darkness surrounding me, listening to silence and letting my imagination run wild. Silence is the most beautiful sound and yet it is also the most dreaded one. Through silence you can hear your true self, you can truly hear others and connect with their souls.

5 thoughts on “The Sound of Silence… Weekly Writing Challenge

    • I equally love the original version as Paul Simon is an amazing songwriter and interpreter however I was struck by Passenger’s heartfelt version. I suppose it’s because he brings a sort of melancholic and frustrated tone to it that mirrors my own vision of Silence.

  1. Pingback: Clamorous Silence, What A View | Wandering Gypsy Spirit

Leave a Reply

